alexander mcqueen / beauty / glamour / jessica simpson

GLAMOUR GirL

Afternoon guys… as promised I said that I would let you know what I read in this months issue of GLAMOUR.

Usually when I buy magazines most of the time I just flip through the pages to see whats new in fashion, looking at pictures, etc. Somtimes I only buy a magazine if they have someone interesting on the cover. I use to literally collect every magazine Beyonce was on. Now I actually take the time out and read them cover to cover.. yes indeed!
First, GLAMOUR offered some beauty tips.. “The Best Red for Your Skin“. Red lips have been in and will continue to be in, especially in the fall. Last fall/winter I wore plum like colors. I was scared to try red because of my dark complexion but I’m going to step out the box and try it. This summer I fell in love with MAC’s “A Girl about Town”. Its a fuschia color and I get sooo many compliments on it. So if that can work, I know red can!

Here are some tips GLAMOUR offered:

If you have fair skin try more coral-y reds. Its not too bold but still gives you some color. Try YSL Rouge Volupte in No. 16 or MAC’s Lady Danger.

If you have medium skin you can use a true red to pink-red shades that compliment your golden complexion. Try Chanel’s Rouge Allure in Audace or Rouge Dior Lipstick in Red Premiere.


If you have dark skin, like me *smile, stick with deep rich colors like burgundy. Try Lancome’s L’Absolu Rouge in Smoky Rouge or MAC’s Underworld.

Good Luck ladies!

I really enjoyed reading Jessica Simpson’s article. I won’t spoil it for you, but I will quote her on something she said about her past relationships:
“I don’t regret anything I’ve gone through. All of them [relationships] defined me as a person. If anything, I believe they were preparing me for the one I’m going to spend the rest of my life with” (Jessica Simpson)

I could definitely relate to that. We have all been through ups and downs when it comes to relationships. Thinking the next one you give your heart to will be your prince charming but in reality he’s still a toad. I am still waiting for my prince charming or something close to it but in the meantime I’ll continue to just love me and the beautiful people around me.

The best advice I took from GLAMOUR was in the article talking about your money! Basically how to make it, spend it, save it, build it, etc. I just started a job where I get paid on salary so my money has really grown but learning how to spend and save has not always been my best quality. I advice everyone, even if your broke, to read this article. It tells you tricks on helping you stay on a budget, how to invest your money and where to invest it, and even about good and bad debt. I have a mild shopaholic problem which I’m learning to tame, but growing older comes with responsibilities. We need to think about the future and retirement. I know I would love to retire on a yacht in France somewhere, but I know I have to plan for that.
One great trick that I’m using, thanks to the article, is using the website http://www.mint.com/ You link the site to your online bank accounts and it shows you to budget your money and where your money goes in visual pie charts. Basically it’s a great way to really visualize your spending. It’s free too! I’m using it now and I think you should too!

My Alexander McQueen Party Outfit

*Listening to “Wonderwall” by Oasis… youtube this song.. it has some really nice lyrics 🙂
-yvonne

Leave a comment